K Reads: Favorites of the Summer

The word avid stems from the latin word for CRAVE. I think I want to BE AVID.

During college I even worked for a program called AVID as a tutor for middle schoolers.

I liken avid as my word for my season of life.

I long to be avid in my explorations and travels:

From weekend getaways to highly organized trips with multiple components

I strive to be avid in my relationships:

From new friendships i am cultivating to long phone conversations with family like friends back in the states

And perhaps more importantly, i need to be avid in my activities at home:

From my work responsibilities to cooking clubs to spin classes.

The constant state of variety in my life has always been reading.

My mental life relies on avid reading. At any given week I tend to devour at least a handful of professional journal articles, one specific magazine: Psychology Today (I can’t digest magazines without longing to buy more shoes or get a new facial product) and at least three rotating books, a fiction, a memoir and a nonfiction. For example, I just finished Gone Girl and Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and am currently reading The Expats, Everything is Obvious once you know the answer, and a book of essays from MK Fischer. I’ve been part of some organized book clubs in the past and enjoy most having the specific tastes of others come into my reading rotation. Instead of a traditional book club, I’ve recently joined a group of readers who answer a few questions a month on a book that he or she is reading and enjoys. Sharing the “cream of the crop” with the rest of the group is a lovely manner to enjoy only scrumptious reads.

Needless to say that glancing over my reads for the summer, a few from my list stand out

Habit Change: completed in mid May this book revitalized some of my therapeutic efforts. The main premise demonstrates that many of our behaviors are set on auto-pilot and by altering our environment, we can shift our routines. Environmental cueing is fundamentally influential in our behaviors –we are far more emotional and non rational than we realize. The true key to shifting our habits lies in uncovering what rewards most satisfy us (and they are not always apparent)Mk

Question 1) what chapter or part of the book will you most remember?

To this day I bring up how addiction occurs when the brain Anticipates a reward and cite the research on chimpanzees and blackberry juice

Question 2) who in your life would enjoy this book the most and why.

Tom. He most likely appreciated the copius amount of research studies cited and the real world examples. I am guessing that he enjoyed the part about toothpaste pretty fascinating

Question 3) what aspect of the book did you find unappealable

The author has a lot of willpower (there was research on that as well,) but this is not a manual for changing habits or really geared for a general audience.  It may give you insight into your habits but it won’t provide the ongoing reinforcement and social pressure for you to change it.

Pigeon English: I devoured this book written from the perspective on a tween African immigrant to England.  I cherished the narrative of the book Room and must declare that the storytelling in this book far surpassed it.

Question 1) name one thing about the book that “got” you

I loved the relationship between the brother and sister in the book…both of them. There is frustration and care and fear and reverence and competition.

Question 2) if the book asked a question, what would it be?

How do you translate or come to terms with the inherent violence of our modern day life?

Question 3)  one of your favorite quotes

“I pretended like all the oranges rolling everywhere were her happy memories and they were looking for a new person to stick to so they didn’t get wasted.”

Salvage the Bones: the first book my “boo” aka new IPad and I devoured on a recent trip to a conference back in the states. I watched only two movies out of 22 hours of plane time in favor os lapping up the beautiful prose this well oiled author offered. An inside account of a life changing few days in the bones of an impoverished Louisiana family, the themes in this book included intense hunger, distance, an bonds of both blood and selection.

Question 1) what part of the book Was relatable

first and foremost, the book is aboutthecycle of death and life, and how unopposite they are from one another. The narrator searches foreggs, ponders them, and sees them both as fuel and a burden. The boy cherishes his precious pit bull in a manner that one envies, that fierce tether of commitment and care to something wild that only loves back in partial,but very effect, form

Question 2) is this a page turner?

Definitely. However,not due the storyline as much as they manner in which she unfolds the characters hearts and minds. You want to know if the puppies survive, or they get out ofthestorm, but more so,you want to know the shape of their resiliency and morals.

Question 3) who was your favorite character, and why?

The brother, Skeetch. His bond to certain places, his animal, part pet and part sustenance, and his family members, moves,baffles, and shakes our sense of who’s longs to us and who we belong to….which is always far from equal.

Just a few books that marked me this past summer….propelling towards autumn in a chilly, but reverent manner.

What should I read next?

One thought on “K Reads: Favorites of the Summer

  1. I just finished Salvage the Bones this afternoon!! I loved it!! I am thinking about reading it again bc I feel like I missed a lot of the depth for watching the action. Tks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

