Special K Day

I consider my birthday month as a season of reflection and intention. What did I love about this past year and what do I want to manifest in the next? 32 was the BEST YEAR OF MY LIFE!  Simply, to sum my year in 6 words or less, NEVER STOP EXPLORING.  This past year of life, not one day passed

where I didn’t readily possess the strong affirmation of my connectivity. The signs were everywhere: in spoonfuls of Trader Joes crunchy peanut butter (THANK YOU TO ALL MY SUPPLIERS!) the washing of my friends feet during a trip, savoring what is regarded as the best beer in the world (each bottle made from the hands of trappist monks) or drinking a bottle of agua de Valenica on a train in Spain. .  this year, I lived not BIG (BIG was SO  last year) but BREATHTAKINGLY.

“I will not die an unlived life. I will not live in fear of falling or

catching fire. I choose to inhabit my days, to allow my living to open

me, to make me less afraid, more accessible, to loosen my heart until

it becomes a wing,

a torch,

a promise.

I choose to risk my

significance;

to live so that which comes to me as seed goes to the

next as blossom and that which comes to me as blossom, goes on as

fruit.”

To celebrate, The Weinhaus in Homborg and I organized a 4 course wine tasting for me and 18 of my friends. The theme was from an old song my mom used to sing

make new friends, but keep the old

one is silver and the other’s gold.

Do you ever have seasons where you feel incredibly rich? I made a small toast emphasizing that the connections we receive and cultivate serve as the reflection of something eternal, and that there was no other hour or place of belonging more gracious than those gathered together that evening.

1st Taste: A Prosecco with Olive Tapenade Bruschetta

Taste #2 Halftrocken Baden Baden Riesling with Black Forest Parma

Taste #3 South Africian Blend with Tapas (olives, marinated vegetables)

Taste #4 Spanish Tempranillo (my favorite!) with a cheese plate

“Like all explorers, we are drawn to discover what’s out there without knowing yet if we have the courage to face it.”
― Pema Chödrön

Stay tuned for a three post series on my favorite trip of the year thus far: RIOJA!

One thought on “Special K Day

Leave a Reply

