Bacon Brew

 

A Dunkel (or dark) beer from the local family brewery near Grafenwhoer, Germany

Beer is making me grow….spiritually AND physically!

100s of years ago, many beers smacked of similar flavor profiles as smoked meats. The grain, usually something like barely, were smoked over fires to dry until the 1700s. The procedures were lost with the
Industrial age, but now, the German town of Bamberg fans the flame of tradition by producing a beer worthy of worship with their own special rauchmalz (beechwood smoked malt).

Located in Bavaria, Germany, Bamberg is one of the few cities in Germany that was not destroyed by World War II bombings because of a nearby Artillery Factory that prevented planes from getting near to Bamberg. It is simply gorgeous and pleasant.

Building from the 15th century

Bamberg is home to eight breweries, Brauerei Fässla, Brauerei Greifenklau, Brauerei Heller-Trum (Schlenkerla), Brauerei Kaiserdom, Keesmann Bräu, Klosterbräu, Mahrs Bräu and Brauerei Spezial, and one brewpub, Ambräusianum[4]—an unusually high number for a city of 70,000.

But the word out on the streets (or asking 3-4 local Germans and reading beer enthusiasts blogs) was that Aecht Schlenkerla has the best smoked beer in the world. This tried and true method of researching has yet to fail, and from the moment I sat down at Schelenkerla, I knew that I was inclined to like its offerings. Sitting down, I smiled over a man to my right. He smiled back broadly and said, “what do brings you here?” As I slyly smile at him, and say “I came for the smoked beer.” He then tilts his half pint up, and in Bavarian hospitality says, “you try some of mine first?”

PROUST

He carried himself like a pal that would be an asset to have a poker party, full of amenable stories but capable of bluffing with the best of them.  But share, I did. The first sip a dark chestnut of maple and the subtle woodiness of smoked meat. The molasses sweetness mingling with the heavyness made the old setting, a bit more inviting.

The tavern occupies a building first mentioned in 1405 and its low timbered ceilings and dark wood reflect the high sun of a summer’s day with welcoming ease. And then, the weiss smoked beer arrived, and punched itself into my mouth. Assertive, and tangy, the hops announce that they are “bringing home the bacon” but in a way that is more smooth than bitter. With a hint of tobacco, this was a beer that is easy to settle down with after a trying a day.

My new friend, Johannes, tells me tales of he and his wife. Speaks in German with my boyfriend and both, with multiple beers in their bellies, help me with my slaughtered German pronunciations. He explains that the word Schlenkerla itself, means to “shake like, when drinking” or literally, I learned later, “to dangle.” The beer lives up to its name. If most Franconians are considered reserved, then Schlenkerla shakes their demeanors up a bit.

And smokes the competition. TASTY!

 

5 thoughts on “Bacon Brew

  1. to me that sounds tasty. in theory hahah. i am such a newbie to drinking beer that i really only like the paler/wheatier ones. but i do have some friends that would die to go to those breweries you named!

  2. I have tried smoked tea, but never smoked beer. “Ambräusianum”, though, realy sounds like a place where beverages for gods and goddesses are made! And although I’m a German (a northern German, though), I’m not sure whether I had understood the meaning of “Schlenkerla” at once. 😉

  3. Sounds like an awesome experience. I love all of your adventures. So sorry I couldn’t get out to Germany. Maybe sometime I can still make it over there. I can’t believe they make beer like that. Then again the German’s do some crazy things when it comes to beer. Hope you are having a nice a 3 day weekend.

Leave a Reply

