UnBirthday…Fit for a King

We desire growth, but we don’t like change. And sometimes, when life is so amazingly awe inspiring, I remember with awe….that something new is brewing, and that I must honor the NOW and celebrate….

In order to feel secure and grounded, I often play by a set of rules, keeping track in my head if I am sleeping “good” eating “good” exercising “good” working “good” I like to be good. And too often, I delayed pleasure because it was anti”good”.  The more I live, the more this fallacy is unspun. I do not deserve a glass a wine. It is there to please me, whether I’ve been a bad doctor or a bad friend.

Pain is not punishment. Pleasure is not a reward

And it is through CONNECTION that this lesson clarifies itself. I have a rare handful of sisters scattered in the world. Colorado. Georgia, Maryland, England….and a handful of sisters right here. And before the hectic craze of summer, of moving along, of change, I wanted to get together and have a birthday unbirthday ladies night.

An excellent restaurant lies inside this historical castle, serving only food from the local area

And the best of friends are the ones that will gather for no ocassion at all, except to fancy your whim of having an un-birthday celebration.

I fought against this. I wanted to make a gourmet meal for them. But that’s not what you do on your birthday. You go out. So I made reservations at the highest rated castle restaurant in the area, planned presents, put on a dress, opened a bottle of wine and anticipated the evening.

The environment of the Burg Lichtenburg wowed us from the start. But then, the courses came….like each friend, each course SHARED, multiplied our pleasure. We each preferred one over the other, perhaps…but the meal satisfied shared so much more than delighted in alone.

Blueberry Liquor and Champagne, served with smoked boar meat salad....HEAVENLY flavorful!

In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out.  It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being.  We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.

~Albert Schweitzer

Roasted Duck with fingerling potato dumplings

Ricotta Spinach Ravioli (YUMMY!) with a light cream sauce

My Meal: Smoked Trout (Delish!) with fingerling potato strudel

You can always tell a real friend:  when you’ve made a fool of yourself he doesn’t feel you’ve done a permanent job.  ~Laurence J. Peter

Perch with a mango curry sauce

Friendship isn’t a big thing – it’s a million little things.  ~Author Unknown 

Miss Needle Beetle recently donated a handful of bags to sell with the proceeds going to a friend who is doing Climb up So Kids can Grow Up.  I decided to buy all the bags myself, and give one to each of my four best friends as birthday presents.

Each lovely friend was given a little unique comment to highlight my gratitude for our unique connection.

She is a friend of mind.  She gather me, man.  The pieces I am, she gather them and give them back to me in all the right order.  It’s good, you know, when you got a woman who is a friend of your mind.  ~Toni Morrison, Beloved

These connections have been a million ounces of nourishment here, the sense of a treasure being buried with each moment shared, and always, feeling expanded. Guiding me with their wisdom, I am connected….

and FED!

Enfolding me into your sisterhood, I belong

Happy Unbirthday, TO YOU!

2 thoughts on “UnBirthday…Fit for a King

  1. What a lovely unbirthday celebration! A German castle, delicious food, lovely gifts…I can’t think of a better way to uncelebrate your birthday!

Leave a Reply

