K Gains

Remember when I spouted that the holidays are the most stressful time of the year? Well, looking back I feel they were what my life always is: a balance of “wow, I am the luckiest woman on earth” to “why-do-I-inflict-this upon myself?” moments. Meaning….that many days I felt exhausted and completely SPENT and other days, connected, fulfilled, stimulated.

And through all of this, continued to nourish myself. Kind jury, let me introduce to you evidence A:

I gained four pounds. Some of you may perceive me to be “too thin,” and honestly, I feel that my physical frame does NOT match my personality and is discongruent with my natural size. Looking back, sure, I’ve chowed down “unhealthy” items at home:

Candied Apple Cupcakes

Gingersnaps

Blueberry Crisps

and on trips

Turkish Candy

Dutch Pancakes

 

Dessert Before Dinner...a key strategy

But, this food wasn’t REALLY unhealthy….because my BODY NEEDED it. Does that make sense? For me, it was FUEL.

Working in the medical profession, as well as a background in theology and education have conglomerated to form some pretty thick SHOULDS in my operating system, which translates into RIGHT and WRONG, GOOD and BAD, or BLACK and WHITE patterns. Sure, we all need compasses, but health is NOT so clear cut. BMIs aren’t TRULY healthy or unhealthy, and the natural size movement works to educate people that health isn’t about numbers.

So, the number 4 = “good girl” doesn’t really translate into “healthier” K. But it IS a signpost of GROWTH for me. Of choosing NOURISHMENT consciously fueling myself MORE. Of breaking the “this is BAD” this is “good” mentality, and choosing in the present moment…what NOURISHES me?

And if I shared a pancake or ate a cashewbutter-ginger-agave-apple half sandwich at 6  “before dinner” those bites occurred with intention and honor and intuitiveness.

I request to submit Evidence B:

I GAIN…and RUN….as I am training for my first EVER half marathon in 2 weeks in Morocco. So, I am gaining muscles and fat, all while running 25-30 miles a week. NOw it’s not the total distance that is a big change for me, but the amount I run in a given time. Since Thanksgiving, weekly I do what is a long run for me 10-13 ish miles. And the other 6 days of the week, I run smaller amounts adding up to 15-20 miles or so (usually 3-6 at a time) and cross train on the elliptical, with smatterings of 20 minute yoga sessions here and there.

Lastly, but far from least, let me introduce Evidence C

Over 8 weeks, I have treated myself to THREE massages and a pedicure! This is SO BIG FOR ME! When my muscles were singing and my feet sore, and honestly, my spirit exhausted or my mind racing, I tried not to figure out why, or deduce where I went wrong in preventing such malaise and instead, attempted to baby myself. I am gaining the ability to accept my unhappy-grumpy-gosh-I-am-limited days and seek comfort and touch rather than mental acrobatics earning my way out of them.

Rather than try to get OUT of this feeling….I go IN instead.

And the feelings “don’t go away” so, it is not like I am telling you TRY THIS…….IT WORKS in making me PERFECT. AKA not feeling anything uncomfortable. Because even though I WANT to gain, seeing those numbers go UP made me initially uncomfortable, and the tighter dresses or pants, and little feeling like I’ve done “something bad” and that all the weight going to my middle indicates LACK OF DISCIPLINE AND CONTROL.

So…I am gaining….but it isn’t often rewarding.

What are you gaining lately?

5 thoughts on “K Gains

  1. what i am gaining? lately i’d say that i gaining some culinary confidence to try things in that i always considered too challenging for me to make, a public library card, and a more chill attitude. this winter has me wanting to do nothing more than stay in, read books and cook stuff 🙂

  2. This is a really unique view of something that so many of us struggle with – I love it.

    Lately I am gaining the ability to be more patient. I am seriously working on it this year and since 2011 is already of too a crazy start my efforts are in full effect. So far, so good.

    I love the new blog format – it loads really quickly on my computer now!

  3. three massages and a pedicure? lucky girl 🙂

    currently i’m gaining lots of friendships and connections that make me feel comfy in my skin.

    as far as the quad pain. i’d say MICE (with the m = slight movement). and actually using heat to loosen things up. but above all try to relax (obv easier said than done!). you’ll do great 🙂

  4. I am gaining perspective on how authority operates. Don’t ask, long story, but I see know that people are very, very different in their management styles and how they interact with people. I guess I knew this, but never really experienced it.

    Also, I like the new layout. Not sure when that happened, but I certainly notice it now.

  5. I am gaining a sense of grace towards myself for my slow return to work and my slowness in general with making money these past few years. I am seeing how much I have done instead of what I haven’t done and what I have overcome to get where I am.

    little stuff.

Leave a Reply

