K Cooks: A Year of Soups, Saint Nicholas Soup and a Soup-A-Thon

I am not on a mission, per se…but more on a “kick” recently of blending and puree-ing vegetables marinated in their own rich broth. Inspired by a borrowed vitamix only kicked up the fervor another notch. Reindeer overindulging on eggnog couldn’t compare to the pleasure of a week long soup-a-thon, whereby I slurped up at LEAST a bowl a day.

SOUP #1

Chicken Almond Mole Soup

Feeling a little sour that the best Latino/Mexican/Hispanic Food is WAY across the pond, I yearned for something in the Mexican Family. something like chili, but not chili. Only 4 little chicken breasts grazed my freezer, so into the crock pot they went with 4 cups water, some salt. After 2 hours, I shredded the chicken, added a whole chopped leek, a can of diced tomatoes, 2 tablespoons chili powder, 2 tablespoons dried onion, salt and pepper, a dash of hot sauce, and a quarter cup of cocoa blended with 2 tablespoons almonds and a little H20. After another 2 hours, I added 1 cup of dried red beans that had been pre-soaked….then let it mix and kept stirring it, adding some dried red pepper at one point to heat it up….and a drizzle of honey.

Topped it off with roasted corn, and quark (like sour cream and yogurt) and sliced almonds…and well, let the fiesta begin. To dip tortilla chips or crackers in this baby or scoop the contents with a corn tortilla merely got the party started. The chaser of tequilla in the center finished it.

And boy, I felt gourmet-ish and oh so down to earth all rolled up in one.

No Tex Mex could compare.

Soup #2

Carrot Coconut Ginger

The vitamix juices up carrots allowing one to practically overdose on rich Vitamin A. 

It IS possible to turn your skin orange by ingesting all of the root, and as orange HAPPEN to be my favorite color, all that went into the vitamix was one onion, diced, 2 tablespoons minced ginger, 5 carrots chopped, 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut that had marinated in 1 cup water overnight,  and 4 cups veggie broth (boiling), one tablespoon molasses.

Give it a whirl. Or a jolt, because the blades and spin-spin-spinny action sound and appear a bit Star-Trek-ish in nature.  I let this set up two days and then ate it two times each day for three days. I didn’t even share (although I did freeze one portion for later work-night havoc delight and am now thinking it would be great as a base for risotto).

And last, but NEVER least!

Soup #3 Saint Nicholas Soup

Remember that my wonderful mentor sent a remarkable Christmas package that contained a gift that surprised me: a cookbook. I have been out of favor with cookbooks for the past five years now, in the past two years relying solely on revised concoctions mused from online sources. Yet this one, stole my heart. Twelve Months of Monastery Soups. A Benedictine monk authored this beloved edition that relies heavily on French cuisine and a sense of soulishness. What I cherished about this cookbook was that many of the selections felt foreign to me, and featured seasonal fare plant based and flavorful. I promised to make a soup from each month following the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions or creativity.

Saint Nicolas Day is celebrated here in Germany on December 6th. Kids continue to put out their boots the night before in hopes that he will come and fill them with goodies.

And yep…this year, after failing to get anything in mine although I left my shoe out THREE nights last year, I found a BOOT FILLED WITH oranges, chocolate, nuts and dried fruit on my doorstep.

I must be less naughty this year.

So I thought it fitting to celebrate with Saint Nicolas Soup.

UBER Simple…

Melt two ounces of butter in a pan, add in 3 carrots, one onion, 3 turnips, 2 potatoes, half a head of cabbage…….and stir stir stir until glazed and yummy, add salt and pepper, and cover with veggie broth (1 quart).  Now, at this point, I placed the veggies in a crock pot overnight to make the preparation easier as I was also making sweet potato biscuits for guests. After about 8 hours (overnight) it went into the fridge. Then, when I got home from work, I blended the mixture up and back in the crock pot it went…for three hours.

Tasting Notes: Boy, my little saint nick…those little veggies got a little complicated in the crockpot or something, because my belly was jingling all the way with delight. Why don’t I have a picture, you may ask? Well, because all my guests imbibed the concoction faster than cookies out of the oven disappear. You’ll have to make your own to feel a little Christmas Magic. What a surprising, and satisfying way, to end a year of Soups.

This won’t be the last of my soup days though…in fact….as we speak, I am roasting a butternut squash to blend in the vitamix with roasted fennel and apple topping and a puree of pumpkin seed oil….

Ah! In the darkest time of year, soups serve as my hope, warmth, and light.

What would be included in your soup a thon?

7 thoughts on “K Cooks: A Year of Soups, Saint Nicholas Soup and a Soup-A-Thon

  1. as the temps dip i find myself craving soup. these definitely look like they’re keepers. i guess my soup a thon would be the standards: chicken noodle, tomato with grilled cheese. the comfort stuff 🙂

  2. Oh I do love a good soup! Alas, I am lazy about making them and I really have no good excuse why. I even have a crockpot! Thank you for the inspiration and recipes – hopefully this will jump start me into action.

    I love the boot idea!! And I’m glad that yours was filled this year. 🙂

  3. Hi there, You stopped by my blog thinking I was form WV instead of Va which I am. you wanted a post card. I have a friend who recently moved to WV, and I can have her send you a card if you’d like. She has also been to Germany. I see you like to cook which my friend and I both love, however, she is a gourmet cupcake decorator. Let me know if you’d like me to have her send you a card from WV.

    • OOOh OOOH OOOOH! I could have used your friend on Friday when I totally bombed these cake balls I was trying to make into snowmen for my Christmas Party at work. THANKS so much for your endorsement. I would LOVE a card…

  4. Pingback: Soup, Sweets and Swap Time….really, an excuse to drink WINE « The Special K Treatment

Leave a Reply

