K Cooks….A Year of Soups Corn Soup

“Sorry I haven’t posted all week….BUT!”

Nope. Not Going to Visit Guilt Land this morning. Sure, I’ve paid for the ticket already, but the sashshaying Tilt-A-Whirl I tend to smack myself in the middle of, not expecting amusement but figuring out that if paid for, there must be SOME pleasure to eeek out of it, well…WHY GO THERE?

(Confession…I paid quick homage to the “you need to post!” bouncehouse about once a day this past week, but tried to get out before stuffy I am a bag blogger thoughts made sea legs of of me)

Besides, I really haven’t had made the time lately. All last week, other responsibilities and interests called out to me.  I took a yoga class on Monday, ran a parent seminar on brain development and communication, took my first guitar lesson, attended knitting club then a pumpkin carving gathering, babysat on Friday night and a 3am-12am trip to Einsnach on Saturday.

All all Hallow’s Eve…I am choosing to spend it ALL day in Sweats…a light jog, making protein bars for the week, apple rosemary bread for a friend recovering from surgery and sharing some tea with her, watching Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations, taking an hour yogadownload course and making SOUP….On the last Day POSSIBLE!

Remember that my wonderful mentor sent a remarkable Christmas package that contained a gift that surprised me: a cookbook. I have been out of favor with cookbooks for the past five years now, in the past two years relying solely on revised concoctions mused from online sources. Yet this one, stole my heart. Twelve Months of Monastery Soups. A Benedictine monk authored this beloved edition that relies heavily on French cuisine and a sense of soulishness. What I cherished about this cookbook was that many of the selections felt foreign to me, and featured seasonal fare plant based and flavorful. I promised to make a soup from each month following the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions or creativity.

My October Selection: Corn Soup

Sure, I am swooning myself over KURBIS (pr pumpkin) soup right now…especially with dashes of whiskey and nutmeg on top…but also felt a little compelled to honor the others less fashionable crops of the season. (I actually would love to dry out my corn husks soon for later use…hmmm, using them to decorate a set of “vases” of old oatmeal bins).

Corn gets a bad rap….for well deserved reasons. If the average American plucks up any packaged item in her pantry and its got a 75% likelihood of having corn in it. Only 10% of the corn made it consumed by us in America. Yet, seriously! I am a big Corn Fan (not in my whiskey, of course, I prefer BARLEY) I can eat popcorn for dinner….and use it in my cereal mix in the morning. I love hominy (NOT AVAILABLE HERE, with little Latino/Hispanic influence) swirled with beans, simmered in vegetable broth and spicy enchilada like sauce . I even love corn flakes toasted and whipped up with peanut butter and cocoa and marshmallows.

It’s got fiber, folic acid, and vitamin C and is a great grain for carbohydrates…if it wasn’t, we would have it in so many food products.

Instructions (serves 4…I got 5 out if!)

Peel slice and dice 2 onions (I used sweet) and 2 garlic cloves. on medium low heat, pour 4 tablespoons oil into the pot and once heated, saute until they become golden. Immediately add 5 cups of broth (I used homemade chicken stock) and one red pepper cubed. Lid it and let simmer for 15 minutes or so…

Then add 1 green pepper sliced and cubed and 3 Tablespoons tomato paste, and 8 ounces of corn (use can use frozen, I used fresh). Stir in salt and pepper and twirl it…

Then cook for 15.


REMEMBER! I don’t eat these soups that same day…I put them in the fridge to “marinate” and think about how they can prove that following recipes sometimes can reward my super tasters.

TASTING NOTES:

So…the freshness of the poppy corn produced a little jiggle, and it really tasted like a autumn tomato soup. After half a bowl, I decided I craved more Creamy Peamy-ness, so I halfed the mixture and blended it up in the magic bullet…before marrying them together:

 

Better Blended!

Okay….have you tried corn muffins with jam inside? Well, serving those on the side with my favorite alcohol infused berry jam and a simple red lettuce salad speckled with feta, zuch slices, and green onion in a yogurt hot sauce spiked dressing made the meal.

Life shouldn’t have to be proved….it should be lived.

preferably in something that feels as good as sweats.

6 thoughts on “K Cooks….A Year of Soups Corn Soup

  1. I agree, life should NOT be proved, it should be lived, and it sounds as thought you ARE living it well! Just reading all of the things oyu have been doing..guitar lessons, pumpkin carving gathering, so fun! I need to do more random stuff like that, just to live and take advantage of all of these opportunities. Good for you.

    The soup sounds wonderful. I like your blended modification. I do that all the time if I don’t always agree 100% with a recipe. Why not?!

  2. i often hop on the “i need to blog all the time” guilt train. but i love reading your unapologetic beginning to this post 🙂

    AND that sounds sounds divine. although…i’m just about to head to the grocery store and i do not need to add more things to my list 😉

  3. I love corn. I know that “experts” say that Americans eat too much of it but I think that if you avoid most processed foods than no, we really don’t eat too much of it!

    Thank you for a simple soup recipe – something that I think even I can handle! 🙂

  4. Never tried corn muffins with jam inside, but that sounds tasty. I think letting soup sit for a bit really enhances the flavor and gives the various flavors a chance to mingle. Your soup looks great. Sounds like you had a fun and busy week last week.

  5. It is easy to feel guilty about not blogging. I try to remind myself that ultimately it is a hobby.
    That soup looks delish. I need to start making more soups now that the weather is cooling down.
    I have had corn muffins but usually with honey butter. Jam sounds like a good combo.

Leave a Reply

