K Cooks…RAW! Grapefruit Avocado Mash

Raw Food that ROCKS…my agenda for a Saturday evening by my lonesome included mixing up some odd raw food  concoctions out of my creative core. A few hours at the German market here, called GLOBUS (they have wine sampling on Saturdays….you can see my motivation here…plus a big cheese centre manned by at least two staff to carve out your selections….think $2 hunk of goat or blue or even wasabi cheese after you sample 2…or 3….or  today, 6.)

Here are some cool things I discovered:

A Big-ole package of sesame seed for 1.20 EURO…I wanted to see if I could grind it up into a “paste” (knowing that the magic bullet would never produce the consistency of tahini) and use it blended up with yogurt for blobbing on raw yellow peppers

 

Paste now...tahini with a little liquid added later

 

“kurbis” or pumpkin seed oil

 

Dark Liquor-like sweetness

 

(2 EURO)

What to do with it?

(I decided later to serve it smeared over garlic and raw broccoli dusted with nutritional yeast)

After my first sop up I decided……CAN I MAKE THIS?

WHOLLY MOLEY! MY NEW PASSION FOOD! BE JEALOUS! VERY JEALOUS!

And the flagship of my meal (and lunch the next day)….

A gorgeous avocado….

 

Naughty and Nice

 

and thus I hailed BIG FLAVOR

Mashed Avocado Salada

Sliced up avocado

(1/2 of one…the other is frozen to smear with nanners latter)

half of a grapefruit….all dicey and drippy

and 1/2 a sliced shallot.

This produces the most forward thinking, bold and subtle flavors I’ve ever concocted in a raw food dish…

all served up over oat groats that marinating in a walnut vinegar

(AGAIN, AN AWESOME SCORE THERE ARE ABOUT 12 VARIETIES OF FLAVORED VINEGAR HERE, FROM FIG TO STRAWBERRY TO SHALLOT) with shaved carrots and apples….

NOTE TO SELF….don’t photograph anymore on that yucky yellow plate

For desert: the best damn jam I’ve ever tasted over quark with warm homemade broken granola bars on top….that I put into the freezer for an hour or so. Who couldn’t love JAM made with German brandy?

What are your market scores lately? Ever tried a raw food meal?

5 thoughts on “K Cooks…RAW! Grapefruit Avocado Mash

  1. grapefruit might just be the only fruit i do not like hahahah

    i don’t think i’ve ever tried a true raw meal but i’ve eaten meals that haven’t been cooked that much. so maybe they’re raw but just not marketed as such

  2. i just made a rawish apple cranberry “sauce” about an hour ago! mixed fresh cranberries and a sliced apple in my food processor with some fresh ginger and a 2tsp buckwheat honey. YUM! i love the tartness of cranberries.

    i am feeling inspired now to go check out the little raw cafe in town.

  3. I don’t think I could ever get sick of avocados! I mash them with everything I can think of and the result is delicious every single time.

    I am intrigued by pumpkin seed oil! I have never heard of such a thing…

Leave a Reply

