Have your Beer…and Drink it too!

In 1818, Cannstatter Germany decided it needed reason to celebrate the harvest. A big old volcano had erupted a few years before, changing a lot of the weather patterns in Europe. After many years of struggle,  the powers that be had a great day “maybe if we had a party, it would encourage farmers to increase productivity…!”
Yep…the philosophy here: DRINK MORE, MAKE MORE.
And every year, for more than two weeks, locals come from near and far in order to raise glass after glass and pluck string after string and make a step after step in announcement of…well, fun.
Let’s get one thing clear: I never was a drinker. In fact, I think in college I actually was biased against the revelers who left pukey remnants of their previous night’s debacles. After joining a popular ski group (I don’t ski either) I had doubts and fears that my nerdy, in bed reading a book by 9pm, personality would really fit in with this sort of crowd, with this sort of cultural experience.
Yep. Proved wrong wrong wrong, about myself once again.

Ocktoberfest at Cannstatter !

4pm: Allowed entry into Scwaben’s Brau-Festzelt beer tent. Our group of over 2 dozen had a reserved “fest”, or large picnic table, near the band.
4:30: Included in our ticket are three vouchers for a LITER of beer, and a voucher for a chicken.
Drink #1, take a gander at all the people already a bit “festive” and let the dancing commence.
The music KICKS. Old folk German songs (about drinking, and toasting one another) repeat every 20 minutes or so, cueing in cheers and smiling faces.  Mixed in are covers of dancing goodies new and old.
Even their Neil Diamond and Elton Johns and LADY GAGA! got my feet tapping and my heart snapping
5pm Get the hang of dancing on a picnic bench rather nicely, thank you very much
6pm: some random group of Germans, male and female, randomly adopt me into a round of Jagermeister. Every one is happy.

Best-est Beer Goggles!

6: 30pm: Liter #2? It feels like I have been dancing for hours. No sense of time, and no need to have the sense either
7:30pm ThANK GOD for CHICKEN (no pics, sorry! I scarfed it)
8:30pm Right after this, the band played some really good covers, and I got a hat and a smooch for a random German Guy
Drinking perhaps a quarter of the last liter, I needed some air. Stepping outside the beer tent to walk around the carnival a bit (it is 50 out here in Germany already and rainy weather).
10pm: Back in the beer tent? I am done drinking for the night, but not dancing I guess
12pm: Back in the hotel and sleeping soundly
7Am UP and feeling great, and pensive and proud, head out for a 6 mile run. Jogging past the big beer festival’s ferris wheel, I think….that might have been more “fun” than I’ve had in….10 YEARS?
Felt like a kid. A kid I never was.
It just goes to show that even if you THINK “I don’t like” whatever it may be…the color purple, going on a boat, drinking chai, perhaps your thoughts of WHO you are prevent you from fully experiencing WHO you could be.

In 1818, Cannstatter Germany decided it needed reason to celebrate. And every year, for more than two weeks, locals come from near and far in order to raise glass after glass and pluck string after string and make a step after step in announcement of…well, fun.
Let’s get one thing clear: I never was a drinker. In fact, I think in college I actually was biased against the revelers who left pukey remnants of their previous night’s debacles. After joining a popular ski group (I don’t ski either) I had doubts and fears that my nerdy, in bed reading a book by 9pm, personality would really fit in with this sort of crowd, with this sort of cultural experience.
Yep. Proved wrong wrong wrong, about myself once again.
Ocktoberfest at Cannstatter A photo review
4pm: Allowed entry into Scwaben’s Brau-Festzelt beer tent. Our group of over 2 dozen had a reserved “fest”, or large picnic table, near the band.
4:30: Included in our ticket are three vouchers for a LITER of beer, and a voucher for a chicken.Drink #1, take a gander at all the people already a bit “festive” and let the dancing commence.
The music KICKS. Old folk German songs (about drinking, and toasting one another) repeat every 20 minutes or so, cueing in cheers and smiling faces.  Mixed in are covers of dancing goodies new and old. Even their Neil Diamond and Elton Johns got my feet tapping and my heart snapping
5 Get the hang of dancing on a picnic bench rather nicely, thank you very much
6:pm some random group of Germans, male and female, randomly adopt me into a round of Jagermeister. Every one is happy.
6: 30: Liter #2? It feels like I have been dancing for hours. No sense of time, and no need to have the sense either
7:30pm ThANK GOD for CHICKEN (no pics, sorry! I scarfed it) Right after this, the band played some really good covers, and I got a hat and a smooch for a random German Guy
8:30 Drinking perhaps a quarter of the last liter, I needed some air. Stepping outside the beer tent to walk around the carnival a bit (it is 50 out here in Germany already and rainy weather).
10: Back in the beer tent? I am done drinking for the night, but not dancing I guess
12: Back in the hotel and sleeping soundly
7;Am UP and feeling great, and pensive and proud, head out for a 6 mile run. Jogging past the big beer festival’s ferris wheel, I think….that might have been more “fun” than I’ve had in….10 YEARS?
Felt like a kid. A kid I never was.

It just goes to show that even if you THINK “I don’t like” whatever it may be…the color purple, going on a boat, drinking chai, perhaps your thoughts of WHO you are prevent you from fully experiencing WHO you could be.

4 thoughts on “Have your Beer…and Drink it too!

  1. i’m soooo jealous of you being in germany for oktoberfest! i like celebrating it too but i bet it’s a whole ‘nother experience in the motherland! it’s like celebrating st. patty’s day in ireland. looks like you enjoyed yourself a lot — keep it up 🙂

  2. FUN!!!!!! I love beer, and good German food 🙂 And of course, being adventurous and trying new things you THOUGHT you didn’t like, is always a good idea. What’s life without trying new things?! Great picture of you and that guy! You look sexy!!

    Glad you got the soy butter. Hope you like it!

  3. oh that looks like fun!!! we have a little german bar in town that sets up a tent in the parking lot for a mini oct fest. it is one of the highlights of the fall for me. the real deal looks awesome!!!

    and ps- i heart your leather jacket 🙂

  4. I love the play-by-play because as you know, I am a fan of those myself!

    October fest must be amazing, especially when you are in the midst of it all! We have some events for it here in LA but they are nothing like the real thing I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

