K Cooks….A Year of Soups…Parsley?

Yep…this green curlie monster remains the worlds most popular herb. Minced it up with garlic and lemon for an Italian Gremolota. Blend it up with walnuts and oil for a spicey pesto. Throw it on top of potatoes for flair.

Did you know that it is charged with vitamin K to boot? I could tell you that in some studies eating a boat load prevented tumors in rats from growing, that many claim that it promotes healthy hearts with its high folic acid content or I can divulge that its compounds may rid the body of free chemicals.

Or I can simply share that the market had a ton of it for under a buck….

Remember that my wonderful mentor sent a remarkable Christmas package that contained a gift that surprised me: a cookbook. I have been out of favor with cookbooks for the past five years now, in the past two years relying solely on revised concoctions mused from online sources. Yet this one, stole my heart. Twelve Months of Monastery Soups. A Benedictine monk authored this beloved edition that relies heavily on French cuisine and a sense of soulishness. What I cherished about this cookbook was that many of the selections felt foreign to me, and featured seasonal fare plant based and flavorful. I promised to make a soup from each month following the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions or creativity.

Parsley Perfection?

and thus, it became my August selection:

Parsley Soup

Wash 4 tomatoes and then boil them for a few minutes. The peel should come right off. Slice and discard the seeds

in 5 TBL of olive oil, saute 1 finely chopped leek, 1 minced onion until GOLDEN. Than add the tomatoes, 4 minced garlic cloves, 1 CUP of dry white wine (I used a riesling from the mosel) and 4.5 CUPS of water, and season the heck with salt and pepper….Allow the flavors to blend for at least 20 minutes…

Then add 1 big bunch of finely chopped bunch parsley.

Blend it up in a blender….

I must be fan of these herb soups in the summer, because I keep trying to find the recipes from each month’s selection that appeared easy, simple and weekday friendly. I finally got the AHA to make the soup on Sunday to enjoy on TUESDAY, because all these recipes taste so much better in 2 days.

TASTING NOTES:

Good with wine, but NOT my favorite. The soup was very subtle, and I longed for something IN there to perk it up. Potatoes, Turnips, and chunky tomatoes with some more garlic or something. The next day I threw in some orzo and ended up taking it to a potluck at work and topped it with shredded parmesan cheese and slivers of lemon and some chickpeas…a little better…

So…not going to make it again and wished I made the CREAM OF FENNEL SOUP instead…basically the same gist, but with fennel for parsley, and yogurt for the wine (plus stock).

HEY! Check out the new GIMMIE YOUR STUFF ADDITION!

5 thoughts on “K Cooks….A Year of Soups…Parsley?

  1. the world parsley will never NOT remind me of pirates of the caribbean when johnny deep is saying (or trying to) “parlez”. just a small thing but it will stick with me forever. and that reminder just boosted my sunday morning 🙂

  2. Very interesting. I do not think I would like it because, oh no, I hate parsley. It may sound odd, but I can’t tolerate it. I have an allergy to mint and for some reason my body rejects some herbs. Yes, rejects, as in I can’t get them to be swallowed. If I have parsley on my food, I wind up spitting pieces out for hours, and I have no idea why, and it does leave an odd feeling in my mouth. I think it is because I am sensitive to some herbs, although none do quite what mint will do to my mouth. Yes, I am weird.

  3. Oh yes, parsley is such a great herb! If only I could eat onion and garlic without getting the worst gas, ever. IN fact, I just had some spaghetti sauce (~1 T) about an hour ago and I am already bloated and gassy from the tiny bit of garlic!! How pathetic is that?! Perhaps I could do this soup sans the onion and garlic? haha, then it would be REALLY tasteless. How can I be Italian without these two?!

  4. I always feel like a soup needs potatoes…even just one blended in. I am a starch lover I guess. But what a intriguing cookbook and soup. I love parsley!

    Thanks for the awesome confession. I hit my mom’s front light once and broke the little windshield wiper and pretended that I didn’t do it. I won’t confess that on my blog though because my mom will find out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

