K Cooks: A Year of Soups Asparagus-Orange Veloute

 

"This little WHITE of mine..."

 

White is Right. And in Germany, purple, green and white asparagus proclaimed their presence rather arrogantly in the fruit stands, crowding out other produce. Each plant lives about 10 years, and thus, it is a perennial. I’ve never bought nor cooked WHITE, and thus had to hallmark it with this light delicate soup, as the WHITE delicate fingers, a little “does this really taste like anything?”, found their way into my canvas.
A little FAQ:
White asparagus comes from the process of etiolation, which is the deprivation of light. Dirt is kept mounded around the emerging stalk, depriving it of light. The plant cannot produce chlorophyll without light, thus there is no green color to the stalks.

White asparagus is considered to be slightly milder in flavor and a bit more tender than green asparagus.  Some say it can be used like their green cousins, but I disagree…they seriously are VERY light and PRUDISH.  

 Remember that my wonderful mentor sent a remarkable Christmas package that contained a gift that surprised me: a cookbook. I have been out of favor with cookbooks for the past five years now, in the past two years relying solely on revised concoctions mused from online sources. Yet this one, stole my heart. Twelve Months of Monastery Soups. A Benedictine monk authored this beloved edition that relies heavily on French cuisine and a sense of soulishness. What I cherished about this cookbook was that many of the selections felt foreign to me, and featured seasonal fare plant based and flavorful. I promised to make a soup from each month following the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions or creativity.

My Mayl selection?  

Something to celebrate this German delicacy…….a spring light Veloute. What’s a Veloute, you may ask? In France…soup is NOT just SOUP.  There are 5 different types of “sauces”. The  The queen, Diva Childs, noted that Veloute’s involve white thickener of some sort, and thus, a veloute, is a “white” soup.  The WHITE stock usually is amplified by a thickening white roux, usually at the beginning, not at the end of the preparataion.  

Ha! Learned a new technique, I did!  

One POUND asparagus  

Wash and peel the lower hard parts. Boil gently for 20 minuts, drain (preserve 4 cups of WATER) and then cut stalks in half, and place little tops aside.    

4 Tablespoons butter, 3 Tablespoons flour, S & P  

Melt butter, and add the flour TINY bits at a time, slowly add ASPARAGUS WATER with S & P, and the butt of the Guses…bring up to a boil, for about 7 minutes. Then, Blend up this mixture with an immersion blender or BULLET. Return to the pot, and keep at a VERY LOW HEAT DO NOT BOIL.   

2 egg yolks, 1 Cup DRY white wine, 2 Tablespoons Creme Fraiche (or Sour Cream, or QUARK!) 1 TSP Sugar 

Lightly beat eggs and mix in wine, friache, sugar….slowly pour this into soup and then add:  

1/2 C. Freshly squeezed OJ.   

Then, stir well. Add back in the Gus-Tops, and maybe sprinkle som nutmeg in. Don’t let boil, but reheat the soup through.SERVE Immediately. 

 

 

Seriously? LOVE/HATE following these recipes TO A TEE!  

Because although I have to restrain myself EACH time, the results always reward my faithfulness.  I served it up with a lovely dried fig, pear, spinach salad with quark-agave dressing and dried garlic flakes… 

Tasting Notes:   

So elegant and simple. Maybe it is the recipe, or my mood, but each bite highlighted a different flavor. One second, orange, the next a little creamy wine. Remember: NO GARLIC! NO ONION! and if I did add thoses, surely, the little white guses would be goners. If you want to impress, but simply so, try this one out. With crusty bread and brie and that wine….wow! Should we just pretend we’re in Pare-y? EVEN BETTER DAY 3! 

Gonna Let it Shine!

 

 

 

Like my new plate? had to get it when I went emotional shopping after Egypt. Also picked up a new pair of German-hand-made Mary Janes by Joseph Siebel.

 

Now, this is a SOUP TO SHARE!

 

 

5 thoughts on “K Cooks: A Year of Soups Asparagus-Orange Veloute

  1. That looks really good. There are so many other kinds of produce out there that we do not have in the US. I actually had white asparagus only once and it was in Denmark, years ago. It was of course in soup too when I had it.

  2. This reminds me of the Julie & Julia book. Way to test out a new recipe/ingredient (you’re braver than I am)

  3. HA! I just read that first comment and….so true! They do look like little white penises. But either way, delicious all the while. I love a good bowl of soup, no matter how hot it is outside!

Leave a Reply

