K Cooks: A Year of Soups, Three Pepper Soup

Squash Blossoms

I bet where you live, the farmer’s markets started up. I think they have here as well, it is just that they aren’t as accessible to me as they were in WA. I know that if I rode the train 20 minutes, there is one Saturday mornings. 90 minutes jut doesn’t seem fun right now. PLUS! The “fruit” stand in the little downtown has THE MOST AMAZING FARM FRESH PRODUCE. Consumers aren’t allowed to man handle the babies, instead, they cherry pick the ripest selection perched for immaculate consumption.

My wonderful mentor sent a remarkable Christmas package that contained a gift that surprised me: a cookbook. I have been out of favor with cookbooks f or the past five years now, in the past two years relying solely on revised concoctions mused from online sources. Yet this one, stole my heart. Twelve Months of Monastery Soups. A Benedictine monk authored this beloved edition that relies heavily on French cuisine and a sense of soulishness. What I cherished about this cookbook was that many of the selections felt foreign to me, and featured seasonal fare plant based and flavorful. Immediately, I sent another book of his off to my friend Y in hopes of sharing the passion. I promised to make a soup from each month following the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions or creativity.

My April selection?

Something to celebrate the colors of this season, and champion my Barcelona adventure…Three Pepper Soup. The trick behind this succulent treat: ripe sweet peppers and tiny fresh threads of saffron (of course, mine nabbed from the market in Barcelona).   

Three Pepper Soup

One Green, One Red and One Yellow Pepper

Broil them or grill them (I did on my Cuisinart Panini Press) and then let cool for 30 minutes, then core and thinly slice

Chop up 4 garlic cloves 

Heat up 5 tsp olive oil and sautee peppers and garlic for only 1 minute. Add in

5 Cups of Veggie Stock and 1/3 tsp, I used three threads, saffron. Cook on medium-low heat for 30 minutes.

In the meantime, toast 2 slices of bread for each person (I used one thick whole wheat loaf slice) and place in the bowl, perched perhaps halfway down. 

Then, take 1 egg per person, and crack them WHOLE into the broth. Sea Salt and Pepper the tops of them, and carefully turn off burner, and lid the pot. Wait 5-7 minutes, the egg whites will solidify. Carefully spoon one egg onto each person’s bowl. Ladel broth over the egg.

Seriously? LOVE/HATE  following these recipes TO A TEE!

 Because although I have to restrain myself EACH time, the results always reward my faithfulness.

 

Tasting Notes:

Succulent little lumps of peppers truly melt into your tongue. The broth, light and rich at the same time, imparts such fulfilling undertones without the bitterness of sodium fringed taste buds. The gooey egg, perfectly bathed in the broth, on top of the bread, seriously reminded me of something enjoyed in France.

I am NOT Sharing!

5 thoughts on “K Cooks: A Year of Soups, Three Pepper Soup

  1. the farmers markets are starting up where i am but i’m in the same boat as you: i don’t want to take a semi-long train ride to get there. or drive. boo to living in a sleepy town that’s in the middle of nowhere. haha. and your tasting notes left my mouth watering 🙂

  2. love the quote you shared with me! i also really like the one you have posted on the side of your blog right now. i actually just put that in my spirituality scrapbook for class last monday!

    i’ve got another two weeks before the farmers markets open here. we northern folks are delayed when it comes to seasonal produce 😦

  3. Three pepper soup sounds awesome (and I’m sure it’s pretty!) I wonder how much peppers are at the farmer’s market?? In the grocery stores around here they’re super expensive!

    Have a good day K!

  4. This recipe sounds amazing. I am a huge fan of soup, of all kinds. Like you, I hate following recipes to a “t”. Usually it’s because I don’t have all the ingredients and I don’t want to go buy them! But you’re right, when the recipe is followed perfectly it usually turns out that much better.

    Farmer’s markets haven’t started here quite yet. Two more weeks. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

