NOOOOR, EESH! K Chats: Healthy Everythingtarian Feeds ME!

Belissima!

 Boobs…and Nesquick. The first two words that come to mind when I hear the word NOURISH. Funny, that I would regress to such infantile oral preoccupations, but not odd, given that I am a developmentalist by training, and examining my personal temprament, my approach to life always inches towards progress and cultivation of some sort. Just pucker the smoochers together and the audible coupling of the consonants feels comforting and pillowy. Womanly, curvy, waiting to welcome something.
And I think it’s an area of growth in me…how to nourish myself. Physically, emotionally, socially.
    

I LOVE collecting unique cutesy little bowls.  My small collection offers a plethora for different nourishment muses. See this little bowl? I couldn’t buy it for myself. It cost almost 30 EUROS. Definitely “too much!” and my voice said NO!  Handmade in Bologna, one of a kind, spun from hours of work. And my heart LOVED it. But my mind couldn’t “justify” the buy because I had spent $50 te day before on some new clothes. Somehow, even though I could afford it, I thought, I am only allowed “so much.” With blessings, my friend Betty napped it up for me, surprising me with it as a return thank you for a blessing I gave her.    

So, in some ways, nourishment comes easily, and others…not so much.    

nour·ish: (v); to sustain with food or nutriment; supply with what is necessary for life, health, and growth; to cherish, foster, keep alive; to strengthen, build up, or promote.
 
So, starting with the last and working backwards, I’ve enlisted the help of super creative Holly from the Healthy Everythingtarian, to offer me some insight:
Holly, what two words do you associate with NOURISH? 
Soul and food.
How do you NOURISH??
 
I think nourishing yourself starts with just taking time for yourself.  That means taking time to work out, prepare healthy meals, read a book, take a nap, enjoy a bath, go on a walk, talk to a friend…the possibilities are endless.  I consider all those little things ways we nourish ourself on a daily basis.
 
How does your blog do that? What about other blogs? 
 
 I like to think my blog gives examples and ideas of how to do this.  Obviously, it is focused on food but I try to show people that to live a full life, you need to enjoy it.  Balance.  Balance between work, friends, food, working out, shopping, family…EVERYTHING!
 
 What de-nourishes you? 
 
Negativity.  There is nothing worse.
If you had just $10, how would you spend it in a nourishing way? 
ICE CREAM!
 
Why do you think it is difficult for some people to nourish themselves? Do you think it is a girl problem? 
I think we live in a society where often it is praised to take care of others, to do, to accomplish, to be busy.  All of these things are great, but often we lose focus of doing things just because we want to do them.  There doesn’t have to be a reason to nourish yourself – if you enjoy something, most likely it is going to nourish you in some way!
This past week, when I was sick, I tried REALLY hard to nourish myself. Soft fabric PJS. Poached Egg and Toast. Boots Organic Oil. What three things NOURISH you?
9 thoughts on “NOOOOR, EESH! K Chats: Healthy Everythingtarian Feeds ME!

  1. i love the topic of nourishment! ever since finding your blog i’ve actually had thoughts of “how is this nourishing me?” i agree with holly that in our society the needs of us as individuals is often compromised to fulfill the needs of others

    and it’s too funny that nesquick and BOOBS are what come to mind with nourishment. i tried to come up with my own words and i’m at a loss. going to ponder this some more 🙂

  2. Great way to spend that $10 on nourishment!! Ice cream 🙂
    Three things that nourish me are, 1) warmth and snuggles, 2) oatmeal and pumpkin and PB, mixed together, and 3) a nice warm shower

    Love this post.

  3. i too am a lover of little bowls. i just helped my grammy clean out her cupboards and came away some new little bowl gems.

    haven’t gotten any tea yet but i’ll keep watching for it!

Leave a Reply

