Go Nuttzo! K Cooks!

Update! I am sending out the TEA Exchange on Thursday! So if you’d like, email me soon to sign up!

So, some you may know that I am crazy about Nuttzo right now.  And when people ask me what I like to do “for fun,” it’s hard to say “I like to read blogs and find people who are creative and brave enough to turn their lives into a marketable product that benefits the well being of the earth and its inhabitants.” Another “no wonder she’s single” moment.

Anyway, I asked Danielle, the founder a few questions about “her genesis.” Honestly, check out her story. Adopted myself, she inspires my own story to love what I love without abandon.  Here is our little Q & A:

Would you call yourself a health nut?

Yes…  Fitness and nutrition have always been an integral part of my life. After adopting two boys from the Ukraine who were vitamin deficient, I became even more focused on preparing creative, flavorful, super-nutritious foods. NuttZo is an Omega-3 powerhouse of nutrition blended into a delectable butter.

 Why sell this nut butter?
To support the Project Left Behind Foundation
Adoption was a life changing event for my husband and me. After meeting so many of the beautiful orphaned children from around the world, we founded Project Left Behind, a non-profit organization focused on providing human touch, nourishment and surrogate nurturing tools to orphans all around the world. I am so pleased to announce that NuttZo is a proud supporter of Project Left Behind. 1% of NuttZo sales goes to the Project Left Behind Foundation.

What influence does being a woman have on your business practice?

I believe being gender specific has not had any direct impact on my business in the food industry thus far.  Although someone can see from the first instant that I’m a woman, after that brief moment, I believe it’s really about my personality that attracts a curious and positive response.  My personality is extremely direct with integrity at the core.   Humor is  not far behind with a superb dose of problem-solving skills that work overtime. My out of the box creativity keeps the mid-night oils burning. A passionate desire to make a difference in this world ignites an intense response to inspire everyone i meet to ‘pick a cause’ and ‘do your part’ feeds my energy.

What is your favorite recipe that includes NUTZO?
NuttZo Buzz Bars
1/2 cup Raw honey
3/4 cup NuttZo
2 T maple syrup
1T canola oil
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups mixed oat grains (or rolled oats)
2 cups crisp brown rice cereal
1/4 cup ground flax seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup chopped dried cranberries
1/8 cup chopped tart dried cherries
1/2 tsp kosher salt
Directions
Spray a small cookie sheet (with sides) with cooking spray and set aside.
 In a small saucepan, over medium heat combine first 6 ingredients.  Stir and cook until mixture almost bubbles- about 3 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract.
 In a large bowl, combine last 7 ingredients. 
 Pour NuttZo mixture over oatmeal mixture and stir gently with a spatula until well combined.  Transfer to cookie sheet, cover with parchment paper and press firmly into cookie sheet.  Allow to cool completely (will cool faster in the refrigerator).  Cut into squares and store in air-tight container in your refrigerator

K Own Favorite Recipe:

Nuttzo “Ice Cream”

Mix up some nuttzo (about one third a cup)  with a jar of yogurt, a hald box of sugar free pudding and a quarter cup of milk. Once the mixture is set,  spoon out one third mixture for each individual serving, chill for 30 minutes.

Nutzzo is a great example of taking what you love and turning it into something YOU CAN SHARE…do you have a recipe you could make with this? What about something savory?

10 thoughts on “Go Nuttzo! K Cooks!

    • You can order it online (and I encourage you too!) Try it out once and you’ll be hooked. If you get packages from the States, order a few and have a person throw it in for you, but she will go to APO addresses as well…

  1. this is inspiring. its also inspiring, somehow, to hear that you’re adopted. maybe because I want to adopt one day.

    I profiled you on my blog on Monday!

    Can’t wait for the tea adventure!

  2. I’ve just recently heard of Nuttzo and its nutritional value, but haven’t given it a try yet. I didn’t realize that there was a good cause attached to this product, so I’ll have to see where I can purchase it. I loved hearing about Project Left Behind, what a great endeavor.

  3. Your message on my blog was so sweet! Actually, I do have a personal consulting business, and I am looking into creating a site with a monthly fee (small) for people to view posts such as the one I did today. The post I did today wasn’t very personal though, so the information you got from your nutritionists was most likely more catered to YOUR specific needs, rather than just general information.

    This recipe sounds fantastic, and I’d probably do the same thing and just throw it in a batch of my homemade vanilla frozen yogurt!

  4. great recipes! i am going to make the bars for my grammy. she has take to eating only granola bars and yours sound like a good way to ensure that she gets all her nutrition.

Leave a Reply

