Random Thanks

Inspired by the Candid RD’s post about her 5 random lessons, I got to gratifying…I’ve been out of the states in this way different setting for almost 2 months now. Tis the Season to be recognizing blessings and EXPRESSING them, sharing them with others.  For my first few months here, these rose to the top:

1) Remember the SHARE Challenge?  Sharing enmasse prior to my departure continues to remind me of the large ball of connection to which my heart latches.  A postcard arrived from Rhode Island last week as part of my postcard task. And I just pulled out some Jam from Steph’s Jam Exchange for a Tea Gathering with my new neightboors last week to whip up some biscotti. Jack sent me some almond milk and a box of cereal from Trader Joes and after decorating my transformer, I broke out the Magic Bullet and made “cereal flour” to use in my tea goodies.

Cocoa “life” Coffee Biscotti

1 Cup Ground “life” cereal  and 2 tablespoons FLAX + .5 Cup Flour, + 2 tablespoons Sucanut, mixed with 1 tsp baking powder, .5 tsp salt

Mix with 2 Tablespoons of Chocolate Jam (or Nutella!) + 1 tablespoon good olive oil + 1 tsp almond extract + 2 Tablespoons Coffee 

Form a dough…adding more jam for proper consistency to produce a log

Bake Log Twice, smearing with jam after the first cutting! You don’t need a lot of extra sugar in these because it is already included in the cereal.

2) I am uber thankful for my oven after 6 weeks without one. Guess I am a baker in spirit…I also produced these treats for my new friend Amanda who is allergic to dairy

Vegan Pecan Scone Bites 

Together, round up  1 Cup Oatbran with .5 Cup Spelt Flour, 1 tsp baking powder, a dash of salt and baking soda, 1/4 C. Sucanut and a handful of nutmeg/cinnamon and a dash of cardamom

Mix with

1/4 Cup Almond Milk, 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract, 2 Tablespoons ALMOND butter, (I threw in half a mashed banana left over from b-fast)

 Once you make a dough out of this, place in 1/4 C. Steel Cut oats in the dough and 1/4 Cup Almonds. Press into mini muffin tins.

Once they are cooled, make an icing of out pureed Sucanut and Almond milk and almond butter

 3) SKYPE! I bought 3 months of calls to USA for under 20, and a new VOIP headset that lets me chat more clearly. Now if someone could magically make 8 hour time difference dissappear. It DOES take personal flexibility about when to chat with others now. It’s not about convienience (like when I am not first awake or drained at 8pm!) but connection.  I am SO grateful to Everyone willing to send me postcards, care packages from Trader Joes, notes in the mail, and comments on Facebook and here. Meeting new people is great, but there’s something about being known that matters to me. I still have a handful of loved ones I haven’t connected with since moving, and sometimes am saddened by my lack of accomplishment in making that happen!

4) My energy to get out there and not wait to meet people, travel, take that German course that I am only half…okay one third committed to!….

5) Fun craft projects around the new house. Stay tuned for: A Coat Rack, A vintage ladder photo frame, decoupaged transformers and gussied up appliances. I am Toom-ing (the equivo of Home Depot…but in German…with German staff…this is definitely the land of trial and error. Is this paste modge-podge like? We’ll just have to stick and see!) it up and power drilling it down. Purusing the internet and blogs for fun house making ideas. These outlets of creativity challenge, fuel and pressure me. I should seriously re-craft my blog appearance. It is so not me-k-ish

Ah! I live a great life!

I am off to Spain. See you when I get back!  

11 thoughts on “Random Thanks

  1. You’ve got lots to be thankful for, so glad to hear. And now you’re off to Spain!? Have a great time! And take some nice pictures to share with us, as I’ve always wanted to go to Spain and I can live vicariously through your photos!

  2. I haven’t yet found a product for you to review, but I’ve been trying to come up with one. There are a few things at Whole Foods I’ve been looking at that I may consider for you to review, but I want to find something really good! I’ll think of something 🙂

Leave a Reply

