Special K Challenge: EmBODY yourself

The advantages of honoring your body by thanking it include increased wonder, strength, acceptance. Numerous workshops, blogs (see Bella’s!) and authors hail the virtues of this exercise. From pleaing for repetence (collarbones, forgive my ignorance and ass, asuage my persecution) to praising its functions (ah! there is sometimes glory in bowel movements, ask any new mother or internist!) a letter to your body HEALs…

Sure, I have a lot to say to my body. I have a lot of shaping to do, a lot of correcting, a lot of guiding and providing it insight. Most of the things I say are done out of positive intentions: It should be more proud, it should be less ashamed. Some of it was apologetic, requesting forgiveness. BUT my body now asserts that IT had something to declare to my mind, to the core of me.
Here is my body’s letter.

You react to me as if I am unruly. You insist that I behave
You attempt to tame my appetites. You bind up my feet, cover up my lines and disguise my softness. You regulate my tempos, minimize my cycles, ignore my flow.
You attempt to mold me in some image for a crown you crave.
You minimize me in order to gain entry into a party room that does not have your name on the guestlist.
I scare you. I mesmerize you. I confuse you…you fail to notice how I swell, alter, shift. You’d rather forget me altogether.

You have got it all wrong.
I am not something you merely “have a relationship with”
I am not the foreign-tongued enemy that you bomb from distant lands, assuming your superiority. I am not the bestfriend to whom you whisper your secrets when the sun submerges.
I am not separate. Distinct. Something you possess, seize, rule.
I don’t belong to you.
I am not an image you have, a shape shifting mirage in the desert of your spiritual thirst.
I am not a part of you: the seeing part, the breathing part, the bleeding part, the fat or thin part.Body Talk
I AM.
you.
I am all that you are:
An announcement of vigor, vulnerability.
The sacred, the secular

So… I will not beg for your mercy.
I will not crawl and request that you stop apologizing for me.
I will not defend my desires or barter for gratification.
There will be no passive-aggressive revolt against your discrimination.
There is no repentance required. No abdication to forgive.
Just the denouncement of illusionary exile.
And the proclamation of being.
I AM.
you.

FEED ME

For this challenge…what is one line, one sentence, that your body would like to say to you??? Please pass this on to your readers! I will compile all the sentences and email them out for inspiration….can we get 100?

12 thoughts on “Special K Challenge: EmBODY yourself

  1. hmm let me see here…
    “I am your instrument and gift of movement and beauty”

    is that good? haha i dunno!

    and I as far as your question on whether or not I rest after a long run…. I am training for my first marathon using hal higdon’s plan. a few months ago a 9 mile run would have been VERY long for me. but now its just a medium sized run so i honestly do not really rest after it. I do make sure I eat enough so that my body is not sore the next day and so that I can minimize my chance of injury. these medium type runs for me are on wednesdays. My long runs (last week was 19 this week is 14 and the followng week is 20) are on saturdays. I do an active rest the following day (sunday) by doing light cross training. and monday is a complete rest day.

  2. oh wow — this is such an amazing post! Thank you so much for sharing. This reminds me of my favorite buddhist quote..

    “Your body is precious. It is our vehicle for awakening. Treat it with care.”

  3. “Please. Move.”

    Hi Krystal – beautiful words. Thank you!
    A $340 phone bill last month has scared me off international cell phone use (E was using his to call on his way here & out). However, I’ll attempt again with that calling card info you sent soon…almost done with all this scary re-financing business! Looking forward to catching up with you soon.

Leave a Reply

