TMI: What you DON’T Share

The Share Yourself Challenge and Giveaway corresponds to a week of transition for me, as I prepare three different”piles” for moving overseas: one to live off of in a month, one to fly over there for when I arrive, one to ship that will come sometime before Christmas.  The move stimulates the question: what do I need now? what do I want now? and the constant decision making drains my emotional energy and often leaves me in a pile of doubt and exhilaration.

During this time, I’ve been wondering how much to share with others …this happy struggle of moving on. Reading that a lot of bloggers have decided to pause for a break because sharing has become too intense, too laborious, has stimulated a thought: sharing makes us vulnerable.

Sharing is dangerous…or so the swatting hands of American mothers taught us as chubby hands snatched for communal suckers. So so we’ve developed habits of partial sharing…fearing opening up the vulnerable parts of ourselves to protect against viral infection.

So of course, we decide what to share…what to put in this pile, what aspects of ourselves to profile, experts at airbrushing the version of “K” to advertise for consumption.

When the reality is: I cradle resiliency in my bones, I pioneer with bravery into new terrain and equip myself with tools I need to thrive…in the same step forward, I nurture a fear of the unknown, and anxiety paralyzes me that somehow, I’ll manfacture my life into something that doesn’t belong or matters signficantly to any one but me.

You…Me…I am beautifully flawed. Let’s share that with one another…Watch this and tell me what you think…but, HEY! HEY!

Hey, you…back away from that $10 a jar nut butter! That’s MINE!

Gotta Go…Duty Calls!

8 thoughts on “TMI: What you DON’T Share

  1. I know from our move across the country some 12 years ago, those decisions are more than difficult and it is almost a certainty that you will wish you had done something differently when it is all over. That’s just the way it works. The best you can do is make sure that you take with you what is absolutely essential to life and a good credit card to buy anything you suddenly need and let everything else simply take its course. It does no good to worry about doing something perfectly that simply can’t be done perfectly.

  2. omg i could NEVER prepare three different piles. i wouldn’t know how to prioritize my things hahah.

    p.s. the book came today and i can’t wait to start it! and you have really nice handwriting 🙂

  3. Well, first off, good luck with the move!
    The vid made me snicker as I’ve been saying for years that our perception of beauty has gone way overboard…sad.

    I can’t thank you enough for sending me the book, “Alone in the kitchen with an eggplant” from the contest you held. It really is a delightful book and quite entertaining-I simply love it! 🙂

  4. Wow, I’ve only had to do the plane and won’t need it for 2 weeks piles. I can’t imagine not seeing some of my stuff for 2 months, but you sound so ready (and what an adventure.)

    As far as the video, I haven’t seen it video posted on any other site. It certainly is a wake up call.

  5. As a fellow blogger and someone who has always been a private person, I understand how vulnerable sharing can make us. We don’t know how other people will react, whether they’ll use sensitive information about us to hurt us in some way. We wonder if the things we reveal will make us accepted or shunned. While my blog is more informational than personal, yours includes a lot of personal sharing. I admire the courage it takes to do that! Whenever I’m about to write a more personal post, I always agonize a little about it.

    I have that Dove video bookmarked at StumbleUpon. I’ve watched it repeatedly, and it seems like each time I notice some new alteration they made to her already perfectly acceptable face. What shocks me isn’t the pancake makeup and hair extensions but the Photoshopping afterward, the digital dismantling of a real person and reconstruction of a totally fictitious character. Who could live up to a standard that doesn’t even exist? It just underscores how, despite what the feminist movement might have accomplished, the media still tries to reduce women to eye candy for men.

Leave a Reply

