K Compares: Zia versus Cetaphil

ziaI’ve been going through a weird “what’s up with you skin” phase recently. Maybe it’s because of my work outs, maybe because I did a stint of Bikram Yoga (swea-TY!), maybe because I am now over 30. Who knows…but I went out in search of a new cleanser the other day. Before this time, any old cheap brand would do. But now, I need something gentle, but effective. For three days and nights, I cleaned with each of the selections. Here is my ruling:

Zia Purifying Cleanser: Made with all natural ingredients, this product was made for normal to oily skin. The description noted that it was formulated to “refresh” and “balance.:” It costs around $15 for 8 ounces (it’s at Whole Foods). Things I like about it right off: smells nice, it doesn’t leave that “soapy” residue on your hands, and you do get a nice “AH, life is simple” feeling afterward. It even takes off makeup, no problem.  At the end of the three days, I noticed that my skin needed LESS moisture, and that my redness (I get a red nose from having my nose broken too many times) was reduced…

I cleaned my face for three days with cheap St Ives so I would have a fresh start and a fair comparison

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser: Seriously, this feels like a light lotion and although a tacky texture, it smoothed my skin instantly. For 8 ounces, I shelled out $8, and although not advertised as a natural product, has 8 ingredients. My skin shined clear, giving my dry spots oompcetaphilh and my oily ones zap.

My vote?: Hands down, CETAPHIL. I raved about it at lunch yesterday and my co-worker said it was dermalogist recommended.  I know that for the price and the payoff, this is my choice for now. If you workout in the middle of the day, and don’t have time to shower, this is the cleanser for you.  You can hand wash your sweaty spots and get away feeling fresh.

What’s your favorite face wash? Why? How much do you get for the mullah?

10 thoughts on “K Compares: Zia versus Cetaphil

  1. Thanks for check our my blog! Your POM idea sounds wonderful, I appreciate your feedback! I look forward to following your blog, have a great day!

  2. I have been using Cetaphil since I was a little kid… dermatologist recommended! 😉 But I don’t use it on my face very often… instead I just found an OTC (Neutrogena) alternative for something my dermatologist gave me, because I’m too lazy to go and get a new prescription. :p

    ❤ ❤

  3. “Mullah?” Heh, heh – I don’t get much for my Islamic teacher, however, I do stretch out a buck and get the *generic* version Cetaphil…then blow the savings on some other frivolous skin care.

  4. splash water, pat dry, coconut oil. done.
    cheap.

    some times I use baking soda for exfoliation…

    I still have some herbal high quality facial cleanser I bought from a close friend who is an esthetician and use it maybe once or twice a week…when that is gone I don’t plan on replacing it…just don’t feel the need to chuck it.

    I have been doing this for a few months now and LOVE it. Simple

    I get break outs from I believe some detoxing and just take deep breaths and deal with it. I don’t wear make up either (I did put some on for a day with my hubs Friday though!) that was fun. I used my good cleanser THAT night! haha

    🙂

  5. Me, I’m a big fan of Paula’s Choice (Paula Begoun) products, so I’ll take this opportunity to plug her cleanser, moisturizer, antioxidant serum, and sun block. They’re all VERY effective at what they claim to do, they’re reasonably priced, and I always appreciate her honesty. (She got her start as the “Cosmetics Cop,” debunking false claims from the cosmetics industry.)

  6. Pingback: Cetaphil Giveaway! Part Deux « The Special K Treatment

  7. Pingback: The Heat Stole My Hunger! « Have Faith

Leave a Reply

