Beer Guzzling

Now that I’ve confessed my craving for wine (Under Why I Eat/Drink) let me describe a new adventure I had a few weeks back…

I tended to find things I love and stick with them. If alone, I’ll drink wine. That’s where awesome friends and family come in: other people’s passions teach you thing. You see, the bro loves beer, and as a single gal, I’d never compared brews before, so why not do so in Salt Lake City. WHAT? Unexpected place for a brewery, but the owners developed Squatters after crawling American pubs for a year in the 70s, and now the local offers select microbrews. Wine tasting elicits a crisp autumn endeavor…but beer sampling? Perfect carbonation on a fourth of july in the west.

After a few sips, I got playful and ended up describing them all as a stereotypes or figures. Lame, I know, but this amateur couldn’t find any other way to describe be

er. I have the lingo down for wine, but beer seems more friendly, more chill and accepting. This was totally a blast! Try your local brewery and see if you can compare 5 beers and try to name them…
Here are my three favs:

"PROUST!"

"PROUST!"

Broadway Kölsch: With a bit of a fruity after bite and tons of carbonation, I deemed this the Tinkerberll as it was fluttery and put me in such a good mood.
Full Suspension Pale Ale: There is an earthiness to this brew I cherished, sipping it slowly, with caramel nut undertones. I described it as the Body Builder. Yum-o!  
Hefeweizen: Extremely light, with lots of acidity to it, and a taste that easy, but doesn’t linger long. It was the Prom Queen.

I guess if I were a beer I’d want to be a Samuel Adams (got to give a shout out for my Boston days)…the Librarian of beers. Respectible, with a repressed ID.

If you were a beer, what kind of beer would you be?

Don’t forget to share what NOURISHES you and enter to win 2 lb Amazing Meal.

and! The Winner of the SNACK TAXI Trust Yourself Challenge: April!  http://ajangel25.wordpress.com/

12 thoughts on “Beer Guzzling

  1. Oh my gosh this is cute….. I am not a beer drinker nor do I KNOW beer characteristics…DANG cuz “Prom Queen” is hysterical…
    the only beer as of late that I could stand or even LIKED was on a hot hot day at Sea World. It was just a budweiser in this aluminum bottle (not can) I’ll be THAT beer… just the girl next door and COOL! howz that???

    HA
    you are so much FUN

  2. Beer tasting is so much fun! I haven’t been in years, but I really enjoy seasonal beers from local breweries. And since it is so hot right now, I would have to say I am a Hefeweizen at the moment – the perfect summer beer! 🙂

  3. I’d have to be my favorite beer of all time — Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout. It’s so heavy it’s basically a meal & I’m all about multitasking! I almost picked Guinness…we’re not Irish but our youngest was born on St. Patrick’s Day. Many friends have accused me of planning it, giving me a legitimate excuse to serve Guinness at a kid’s birthday party :). I’m having fun reading your posts–so please keep on writing!

  4. Heyy! I’m not much of a beer drinker either. Although I will give one a try, but if I don’t like it then.. no thank you! BUT if I were a beer I’d either be a Belgian beer (Stella or Framboise) or a Becks Chilled Orange.

    p.s. That’s so exciting that you’ll be moving to Germany soon. Take advantage of the bakeries there. The broetchen is delicious and I miss breakfasts there dearly! What part will you be moving to?

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  5. OK. I love beer tasting. I used to live in Northern California where fantastic breweries abound. And I’d love to go back one day for the sole purpose of driving around to breweries and tasting all their beers. The breweries are so spread out that if you’ve got a tasting partner and only drink half the samples, you wouldn’t be drunk and it would be another 4 hours before you got to the next one.

  6. Pingback: Boasting Brugge Belgium « The Special K Treatment

Leave a Reply

