K Compares: Raw Food Bars

Raw Foods Bars: LARA BARS Versus MacroLife Bars!

In the past few years, I’ve been on the bandwagon for foods with simple and selective ingredients. I’ve always had a thing for granola and “power” bars, given the fact that I was an education junkie and now work in a hospital where I often write reports or see patients during meal times. I like to have some good nutrition in simple form.

At first, I loved Luna Bars (they’re targeted for women and taste like cookies!) but then, I had a hankering for LaraBars…falling in love with their raw, no gluten, no filler approach to producing awesome units of fruits and nuts. I LOVED the cherry pie and banana cookie. On my taste tests, the Cherry Pie received a 4 out of 5, the banana cookie, a 3.5. They both have very sweet and bright larabarflavors…big on the fruity-ness. One time, I tried half a bar cut up and tossed in plain yogurt. That was tasty, a good balance of sweet and tart. After noshing on these, I felt satisfied for about an hour or so.

The goods: raw, vegan, fresh and under a buck. Would be good for a long hike. The bads: As a runner, or even during the day, these really never sustained my energy for long. They lack a lot of vitamins and have minimal fiber (about 4 grams for 200 calories).  

 vitasprings_2061_107313034Then I found MacroLife Bars. They have all organic, raw, and vegan ingriedients and artificial flavors. In three words, the company describes them as  Nutritious, fortified, and delicious. I tasted all three flavors. Apple Lemon Ginger, Fresh Berri Berri and Chocolate Cinamon. Wow! Heaven. The Apple and Chocolate ones were both 3.5, but the Fresh Berri Berri, my gosh! A 5! LOVED it! I served one up on a cheese plate with brie and some salty olives with a light pinot noir and my brother went bizerck! My passion makes sense because I am CRAZED right now about their Reds Antioxidant Superfood Supplement that I stir in with water and a splash of juice or blended with a banana (yum-o Omega 3s and mangosteen!) After eating them, I am held over for about 2.5 hours.

The goods: they have a TONS of vitamins in a form your body CAN DIGEST (that’s important people!), have 6 grams of fiber, they have a ton of probiotics… so if you have belly issues, this bar is for you. A friend of mine uses it for blood sugar control, because they provide enduring energy. And the Berri Berri tastes spectacular. 

The Bads: These bars are more pricey (but a good pay off if you don’t waste money on vitamins!).  

The Winner: MACROLIFE Berri-Berri! My new found CRAZE!

GIVEAWAY time: Do you love LaraBars or other Raw Food Bars? Why? What about this type of food NOURISHES you? If you post a comment and link back to this K Compares, you’ll be entered into the running for a sample packet of MacroLife Bars and Supplement Powders! If you don’t have a blog, just comment and try to subscribe (more giveaways are coming next week!) You have ONE week to comment and post! Good Luck!

46 thoughts on “K Compares: Raw Food Bars

  1. Macrolife bars sound yummy! I love larabars. The taste is what does it for me. I also love the ingredients (how short) and that they’re not processed, raw, etc.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  2. I have never tried these bars but would love to! I am looking for pre workout snack that wont make my too heavy and I think these might hit the spot =)

  3. I’ve never heard of those bars, and I’m like you in that I love Larabars, but they never sustain me for long. PURE bars are really good, but my favorite raw bars are Wild Bars. Amazing, but they’re too pricey for me. $5 a bar!

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  4. I have never tried MacroLife bars or Larabars. I have enjoyed the Organic Food Bar company bars and I like the flavor and fillingness of the bars. Great giveaway!

    I am linking back at whoiamuncovering.blogspot.com

  5. MMMmm – yum! I am such a bar girl. I love Laras, but I’ve been trying to go bar-less because of $$$ lately. But I feel so good eating Larabars because they are so pure. Those MacroLife bars look WONDERFUL.

    Linking you back to my next post!

  6. hey love! I’m not entering your giveaway because my pantry is LOADED so hopefully this increases the chances for another lucky winner :)!!

    have a great day!
    xo, Jenny

  7. If I can’t eat whole foods, I like Amazing Grass wholefoods bars..very good. GreensPlus also has a fantastic line. Organic Bar Active Greens is another great choice.

  8. hi!
    i’ve never had these bars, but i love larabars! they’re so dense and i love the fact that they only have 3-5 ingredients! i think that eating simple is the most satisfying (it also helps that they taste great and are super good for you!)

  9. I would like to try a larabar never had one and I have heard they are good. I like a good bar full of good things because some days I forget to eat and then yikes I get hungry! I’ll tweet this.

  10. I kinda hate bars in general unless they are lemon bars. I know. I know. I am a total party pooper. But I will try and keep an eye out for this new bar. I think that I lived off Luna bars for a year when I was a workaholic and they were free in the office. I was this luna bar eating squirrel. I would sit at my desk until I got hungry and then I would go into the kitchen grab some luna bars and run back to my desk as quick as I could.

    Anyways. This is super cool and I’m glad you’re doing this!

  11. I’m not such a fan of bars, actually…though I liked the PB larabar, and the WCMN luna bars…but that’s abt it, heh heh. They are nice for a quick snack, though!

  12. Pingback: A Diagnosis « TOO MUCH APPLE PIE

  13. I have never tried a MacroLife bar, but I like Larabars well enough, especially Cashew Cookie! I think it’s great that they’re made with minimal, nutritious ingredients and that they’re vegan, but I agree that they’re not very filling. Also, to be honest, I like the taste of Clif bars better, so I’m much more likely to eat one of those if given the choice. I think it’s because they’re sweeter and more flavorful than Larabars, which are really quite subtle. I’m very curious about MacroLife bars, though, and would love to try one!

    I linked to the giveaway from my blog: http://toomuchapplepie.blogspot.com. Thanks for your comment!

  14. personally i’ve never been a huge fan of larabars.. the taste is fine if they are the fruit kind, but they are so calorie dense I just never really got in to them. I have fallen in love with Heart Thrive which is raw vegan energy bar

  15. Pingback: In giveaway news… « Fruits. Veggies. Life.

  16. Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog and letting me know about this fabulous giveaway 🙂
    I did try the crepes there a while back, and omg–the BEST I’ve ever hand!!!

    I love the Organic Food Bar and the Amazing Grass ones which I’ve recently tried. LaraBars and Pure Bars are good too. They are nourishing because there are no preservatives, artificial ingredients, etc, just wholesome food!

  17. Pingback: Castles, gelato, and handmade noodles « Hearts Whole Foods <3

  18. I’ve been hit and miss with the larabars, some great, some can go elsewhere… I tried the organic raw bars today for the first time and loved the cinnamon raisin flavor! I love that these bars have no added and sugar and my tummy appreciates a lack of dairy! I’ve never seen the macro green bars, I will have to put those on the list.

    ps no blog, but you’re on my google reader!

  19. Pingback: An assignment for you all. (Prize!) « Fruits. Veggies. Life.

  20. i do love raw bars, because they’re tasty, convenient and not as processed as other bars! i’ve added you to my google reader 🙂 thanks for the giveaway!

  21. I would love to try these bars, they look so interesting! I also have tummy troubles so these would be perfect for me. Great giveaway!

  22. and I apparently can’t type what I mean 🙂

    I meant LARA bars. We’re actually taking a bunch with us to Honduras next week so we can have some healthy and filling snacks.

  23. Pingback: Bite of Seattle Part II « Hearts Whole Foods <3

Leave a Reply

